momlife

Mom.life. The app for Modern Moms

Download for iOS or Android

If you were going to your cousins house and babysitting her 3 children (9,7,4) for these hours, what would you expect to get paid?

Tuesday 3rd- 12-4:30 p.m.
Wednesday 4th- 3:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.
Thursday 5th 3:30 a.m.- 2 p.m. and 4 p.m.-9:30p.m.
Friday 6th- 3:30 a.m.- 2 p.m.
Saturday 7th- 1:30 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Sunday 8th- 11:30 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.

Open in the app

You will be able to see all photos, comment and read other posts in the Mom.life app

momlife

Open this post
in the Mom.life app

Open

Comments

— I don’t charge for family members so no.

— I wouldn’t expect anything we didn’t talk about ahead of time

— She usually pays 5 bucks an hour, which I thought was a little low, but for a day like the 7th, which is 10 1/2 hours, I get $40

— @bunsinmyoven, @missheatherbaby,

— I also wouldn’t charge but I have to go to her house, take the kids to school, get them off the bus, stuff that isn’t in my everyday routine.

— @missheatherbaby,

— Let me rephrase the last part. What is a reasonable price for those hours of babysitting, family or not?

— I deleted my original response once I seen what you commented lol Ummm me personally when we interviewed local babysitters the cheapest we found was 11.50 an hour if it was less then 5 hours and 8.50 for 6 and more hours. My neighbor charges $45 a full day per child. She charges her family members 30 but the kids have to commit to 5 days a week.

— I couldn’t even get a job because of the hours, but I told her with that pay, I have to have more.

— @shauna.johnson, I was also going to mention that’s a lot of hours and late at night as well..... and at someone else’s house too

— That’s a ton of hours. $10 an hour minimum not family. Or a flat rate per day. In home day cares usually charge $30-40 a day here.

— @whereswaldo, exactly. So for 3, you would charge 90-120?

— @whereswaldo, okay. I just think $40 a day for 3 kids when I do all the running and feeding them and whatnot is a little too cheap.

— @shauna.johnson, it totally is!

— If you want to reply to an individual you can hit reply. Or you can @ them. Otherwise they won’t see your response.

— Definitely talk ahead of time and come up with an agreement. You are going to her place so you don't have to supply food or snacks. That's what 62ish hours? I'd do it for like $100ish which sounds like a lot, but it's only $2 an hour away from your own family. Family or not, she'd pay more sending them to a daycare or getting a nanny.

— Btw this would be a family rate for me. If this were a stranger I would definitely do more. And it looks like other than the weekend and Thursday you are only having the 4yo during the day since the other two are in school.

— I don’t have an answer, but let’s also remember these are not normal daycare hours and it would be extremely hard to find someone else to do these hours. That should be figured in.

— @bodybycheetos, @justgotaname, @whereswaldo, @pnrl1992., @missheatherbaby, @bunsinmyoven, Thank you all for the responses! I am just at a loss of what to do. She now needs me at least 3 days a week to get them off the bus at their dads, take them to her house, for 3-4 hours and get them to bed. It could be 5 days, not sure. I start at Walmart and don’t know what to do about babysitting for her too, if it is worth it or not.

— @bunsinmyoven, I’m going to have to try. Thank you!

— @shauna.johnson if you could make more at your job at Walmart just talk to her. Tell her you aren't able to do it anymore since it doesn't work with your new schedule. $200 is like $3.50 an hour give or take some cents.

— @bodybycheetos, I’ll be making way more with Walmart. I make up to $400 a month with babysitting and can make like 1,200-1,500 a month with Walmart. She wants me to stick with her because she has nobody else but I just can’t make it with that little bit of money

— I wouldn’t do it for anything Lear then 300 per week. It’s a lot to do but its kids get a schedule goin and stick to it and ur job will be easy. plus u get to do what u want with them during the day. Good luck